No Snow in my Studio!

I  finished yesterdays piece to my satisfaction – I will have to give more thought on the “how to do it” before I embark on a bigger version.  If you want to see a detail, it is posted on my daily image blog “The Turning Year”.

So moving on.  The next piece has to fit in a frame which I all-ready have.  I don’t really like doing work to fit the frame – but sometimes needs must.  I have forgotten to note down the dimensions of the frame and will add these at a later stage.

When I do quick designs for a piece of work, I have a crayon that has multi-coloured lead, this is so useful as I feel it represents the colour change in embroidery threads really well.

drawing

The next stage was to make the ground fabric.  Currently I am using quite a complex layering method to make a background. Using fabric, paper, tissue, stamping, glue, dye, and felt.

background

This ground fabric will be covered with organza and sheers, painted bondaweb and stitchdetail

The result is a textile which will have (fingers crossed) a depth and richness.

My goddess has made a welcome return – although in this piece she will be in a garden.

4 thoughts on “No Snow in my Studio!

  1. All that layering sounds very complicated. I love the end results though. I like threadspider love the hare & deer, though the hare has a slight lead in my heart.

  2. I like the textures in the background Karen, and the deer and the hare are welcome guests in the frame! The goddess is lovely to see in these grim dark days.

Leave a Reply

