Destroy to Create

17-jan-start

Interesting day in the studio today – I really wanted to push the development of the images from yesterday and the day before – as a double page spread in my 2008 “Moon Journal”.

I also wanted to push my sewing machine as well – because – as yet I have not had time to see what it will really do. I decided to see what the “built in quilting stitches” would do. And I really rather like them. The machine also stitched nicely through the layers – which were – woven paper, painted bondaweb, inkjet transfer on muslin, tissue paper and vyline.

I always find synchronicity interesting. I spent the day yesterday in the veg. garden sorting it out after the high winds and lashing rain we have been having – and I still didn’t get to plant the onions. To-day I received a “planting by the moon” e-mail and low and behold – it is tomorrow that is a good day for planting onions!

17-jan-end

The page developed further as the day progressed – there is still a couple of things I want to add – but the note about it being a good day to plant onions is down the left hand side – and next to it, is an abstract design I drew, painted and cut out from a sketch I did last summer – when my onions went to seed.

Purple Missus (Lynda Monk) left a comment yesterday – saying she would of been more than happy with the first image on yesterdays post – I think the sub-text of a lot of my work process is “Destroy to Create” and “What happens If …”

Sometimes this doesn’t work at all – but if you push and push – Sometimes the results are wonderful.

Is this is a wonderful page – No it is not – but it is a very useful page. It has some excellent starting points to build on. Which – for me – is a good reason to keep an “art journal”

My mind is buzzing with ideas to develop from what I did today. I know my machine just a little bit more – and perhaps – most importantly – I can plant my onions either to-morrow or Saturday!

6 thoughts on “Destroy to Create

  1. Like these images – always fascinated by this kind of image. Not something I am very good at but intend to find time to develop this technique.
    Reluctance to ‘destroy to create’ is my problem.
    Hope you get the onions planted -I’m a very, very fair weather pottering gardener these days.
    Cheers

  2. Hi Karen
    What a brave person you are! I’m with Shirley in my reluctance to ‘destroy to create’, I’m a ‘stop too soon’ merchant!
    I love both these pages , but do have a preference for the the top one, but that’s just the way I think 🙂 minimal!
    As to gardening, tried it for one year and it felt far too much like outside HW. But I do wish I had a little bit to potter in when the weather’s good. Maybe this year !
    I like the new ‘to do’ app , had great fun filling in all my things to do last night!
    Have a good onion planting day.

  3. I love the three ovals in the upper left…what are they exactly? I’m in the destruction mode today..have ripped out every last !@#$%^&!! seam I sewed two days ago and am painting more batting. I’m glad to know that I’m in such good company!

  4. These are wonderful pages, I love the layers and depth. I agree about destroy to create, but sometimes I push too much. Thanks for sharing.

  5. karen- this is beautiful- nice work! sometimes you do have to rip things up and think outside the box to create. kudos to you for your courage to do so!

Leave a Reply

